New eBay phishing viral message

Question
Be diligent out there. Two days ago, I got one of the standard Subject "You're a Silver PowerSeller now!" emails that is a phishing email. That went to eBay and law enforcement.
Today I get a similar one with the same subject but this one was trickier. The viral scanner popped it. The body of the email is as you'd expect, a redirected HTML link to their own site that drops onto the eBay site after scooping IDs and passwords, but apparently this one wants to also deposit a virus, probably a keyboard tracker.

Email infection: From: "eBay"; Subject: "You're a Silver PowerSeller now!"; Filename: message.txt; Virus Name: HTML/Phishbank.BJQ; Status: Removed

The sender must like prison time.


Answer
Thank you!

Answer
Which virus scanner do you use? The ebay toolbar catches those sites repeatedly if I ever click them on. Which is really never. I dropped out of PS status years ago, didn't care for their offer of the mouse in the cage routine.
That person will never see jail time. I haven't heard of many that do. But, Thanks for the heads up.

Answer
Thanks for the heads up for me too. Just got my powerseller invite a couple of days ago (a real one, thank goodness), but got a "survey" today which I'm not sure is legitimate (showed up in the email, but not in my ebay inbox) so I've sent it off to spoof*ebay.com to confirm one way or another.
Thanks for the salutary reminder!!!
© 2007 www.aqcollection.com | Contact us |