Would an Ebay Banner be asking me to log in?

Question
I just answered a question from a buyer through Ebay. After the last page of the process, I got a log in box that said:
"Connecting to a1654.g.akamai.net" and asked for a password.
====
A search of Google for "a1654.g.akamai.net" only reveals two references to the site, and the English language page is not currently working.
This is the cached version of that page from Google. It makes interesting reading in itself (but must be taken with a grain of salt), but it also suggests that "a1654.g.akamai.net" relates to Ebay banner advertising or "Images in the navigation menus". Why would that be sending me a log-in box?
Has anyone else here gotten this type of thing while navigating Ebay?
Kevin

Answer
Hi Kevin:
Sounds like a phony message. Did you download it or answer it straight through my messages on ebay?
If you downloaded it, check you messages in my ebay and see if its there.
Jill

Answer
Genuine question from a buyer I have dealt with before, asked and answered on the Ebay site.... The log in from "a1654.g.akamai.net", was a pop up box, not an Ebay log-in.
Kind Regards, Kevin

Answer
Stuff like that steals your user id and pw. Some kind of security problem. They've been talking about it on the ebay boards.
© 2007 www.aqcollection.com | Contact us |