Anyone heard of this place??

Question
There is an "owner" promoting his new auction site at PSU in this thread http://www.powersellersunite.com/vie...asc&&sta rt=0
The site is called WhaBam. He claims over 1000 sellers have signed up, but as there seems to be no "buzz" about the site on any of the boards I go to, several of us have concluded that there is something not quite Kosher.(besides it's too costly) That and if you read his posts, other than his cut and paste promos, his English sounds too much like it's not his first language. (can anyone say Eastern Europe or Nigeria)
Just wanted to get some imput from the large base here.
Thanks,
Carol

Answer
Yeah I was considering dumping some products there, then someone warned me about it and REMINDED me about the CC. I haven't bothered trying to sign up yet but was interested, but after remembering that bit of info, I don't think I'll bother with that site. I mean, I like the look and such, but the CC info means that I'd have to use a much stronger lens on this site before I bother...
Good topic, I wonder what others think.


Answer
They have 1209 registered users. The most users online was 474 in April of 2005. $49.99 charge per month for unlimted listings. If there are auctions listed there, I couldn't find them.

Answer
HUH???? Those are the EXACT same stats as Power Sellers Unite

Answer
$50/month?
At least they're telling you up front you're getting ripped off...

Answer
a n00b just showed up praising them

Answer
Meya, I think you might have looked through the PSU message board site rather than clicking the link in the first post there, but I haven't looked around myself to confirm that possibility. There's a rudimentary auction site setup and a few listings. Very few, like two total in the Collectibles category.
I take particular interest in the way the "CEO"'s grammar and spelling turned to swill right after a seriously, and accurately, critical post was made. Like, why bother with this when Yahoo's completely free and does in fact have some buyers?
It boggles my mind that anyone claiming executive status in some sort of international business would make posts exhibiting, even rarely, English that would get you flunked out of a decent high school. I saw a claim that CC info is registered with some established 3rd-party company so that this auction site never sees it. I dunno, again. Sure not a setup I give any chance of success to.

Answer
The name alone is enough to doom it, even it it is/was legitimate.

I see whaBAM and think: "whaBAM, thank you ma'am"


Answer
Gawd.....
Our CTO ran a company with 45 million on-line users with a staff of less then 100. They were the 11th largest company globally. I am a CEO on another company that build large data centers for top 500 global web sites.

Answer
WhaBam.com is registered to
Eren Niazi
P.O Box 1138
Los Gatos, CA 95031-1138
US
Phone: 408-450-5331
CustName: Whabam.com
Address: 1900 Wyatt Dr.
Address: Bldg. 616
City: Santa Clara
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 95054
Country: US
RegDate: 2005-01-11
Updated: 2005-01-11
NetRange: 66.151.153.128 - 66.151.153.255
CIDR: 66.151.153.128/25
NetName: INAP-SJE-WHABAM-1582
NetHandle: NET-66-151-153-128-1
Parent: NET-66-150-0-0-1
NetType: Reassigned
Comment:
RegDate: 2005-01-11
Updated: 2005-01-11 I believe Niazi is a Pakistani name and so English is probably not his first language.
Erin Niazi is also the founder and CEO of Open Source Storage:
http://www.extensionmedia.com/linux/....php?article=2
http://www.opensourcestorage.com/index.html
I don't know anything about WhaBam's website itself other than their Privacy Policy which has entirely too much sharing of info for my taste.
Blanche
© 2007 www.aqcollection.com | Contact us |