E-mail from an auction site I never heard of

Question
Got an e-mail from an auction site thanking me for registering etc. I never registered with them nor have I even heard of them before this. The thing that bothers me about this is they included my profile in the e-mail and they have my correct name, address and tel. #. The username they have for me is one I use on sites other than eBay and OCM and the password is not related to any password I've used anywhere. There are no banking details involved.
Should I be concerned or should I just pass it off as another piece of SPAM?

Answer
What was the name of the site? Wasn't loudfrog was it?
Yep, I'd sure be concerned.

Answer
Originally Posted by mysteriouscutie What was the name of the site? Wasn't loudfrog was it?
Yep, I'd sure be concerned. Thanks for responding. Here is the e-mail I received with my personal details blanked out. What should I do about it, if anything?
Dear (My full name here),
Welcome to The !Club Auction and Sales On Line Auction.
Thank you for registering and becoming our latest member!
In order to begin selling and/or buying at The !Club Auction and Sales
On Line Auction, you will need to confirm your registration.

Please follow the link below to reach the confirmation page:
http://216.122.56.104/auction/confirm.php?id=34
Your user information appears below.
Your Profile
--------------------
ID: xx
Username: xxxxx
Password: xxxxx
Full Name: xxx xxx
Address: xxxx
City: xxxx
Province/Region: xx
Country:
ZIP Code: xxx
Telephone: xxx
E-mail: xxx*xxx.com
Please visit us often at http://216.122.56.104/auction/.
If you have received this message in error, please reply to this email
or
write to jimmy*theclubauctionsales.com.

Answer
I think The!Club has been around for a while. They seem to be a real auction site. As for how they got all of your personal details--I have no idea and I might be a bit concerned. You might try going to The!Club homepage and contact the owners about the situation.
(Obviously don't click on the email link--but you already knew that, I'm sure).
Maybe someone else around here also sells on there and can help?

Answer
Here is (supposedly) the real auction site link: http://www.theclubauctionsales.com/
The owner advertised the site over on FAS.

Answer
They started up right after eBay's fee increase this year--they were formed out of an eBay groups club/group. There is a very interesting locked thread on theauctionboard.com with one of the people involved in the site debating with another auction owner about the "proper" way to spam FAS.
http://theauctionboard.com/v-web/bul...opic.php?t=181
EDITED TO ADD: That IP you gave resolves to kcsteel.com (which has theclubauctionsales content) when I do a tracert., but it is possible they are moving the server to that new IP (and also changing from Makebid to PHP Auction XL because there is a copy of PHP Auction at KCsteel.com/auction/ )

Answer
I think that URL is a phishing scam which takes you to a fake theclubauctionsales website. When I click on the link, 216.122.56.104/auction/confirm.php?id=34, my Netmon program shows a connection to 150.101.176.182. The host name is eth1971.qld.adsl.internode.on.net which is located in Australia.
The IP address for theclubauctionsales.com is 66.36.108.88 and their host is interland.net which is located in Atlanta Georgia.
Blanche

Answer
Thank you all for your help. I appreciate you taking the time to respond.


Answer
They actually have a thread here from 5/12 mentioning that they are changing to a new server and new format this week (which I'm assuming is PHP Auction XL) and that people should ignore the registration confirmation emails that will be sent out as they enter members into the new database.
http://www.powersellersunite.com/about982.html

Answer
cherokee96, if you didn't register with theclubauctionsales.com, it's possible that you purchased something from one of the owners on another auction site or they purchased from you and then included your info in their website's database.
Isn't that special?
Blanche
© 2007 www.aqcollection.com | Contact us |