Question
Is it just a mass marketing eBay email?
I got the "Become a Powerseller" invitation email, sent to my ID which only buys! My selling ID is already a PS.
Seems like they should at least tailor their mailing lists a little better than that!
Guess they need to pump up those PS numbers any way they can!
Answer
spoof ?
Answer
D'oh!
Didn't occur to me (too early, I guess!)
I think you're right!
Thanks!
Answer
eBay would like everyone to become a Power Buyer.
So would I!
Answer
A month ago, over the span of a month or so, I did an unusual amount of selling on eBay, for the first time sufficient to qualify for silver PS status, I noticed. A few days ago, pretty much on the schedule I expected, I received an email addressed to my selling ID, notifying me of having qualified. I've read it on my text-only old clunky Eudora email and as far as that goes, it looks OK. I'm virtually certain my selling won't maintain the necessary level, so may well not bother enrolling, I'm still debating that issue. Anyway, though, I see the email text has several places with URL links placed, stating stuff like, well, here's a direct paste of some of it:
- Free PowerSeller Business Templates
- More! Click here for details.
Click here -> http: //click2.ebay.com/3820602.289937.0.1377
Membership to this elite group is FREE. Joining is a simple three-step process:
1. Go to PowerSeller Program Page at http:
//click2.ebay.com/3820602.289937.0.1377
Click on "Member Sign In" and enter your user information
Edit: yikes, those appeared as active links here so if a danger link I just tried to disable by typing spaces in them both....
People here keep quoting eBay assurances they'll never ask you to click links right out of emails, so what the hell are these? Looks to me like it could easily be a spoof directing me to a fake sign-in to harvest the info. I ain't about to click nuttin' like that even if my email displayed an active link there. Perhaps I'll go to that page from a direct eBay login and look around, perhaps not. But if this IS a spoof, boy the appearance and timing is scary, it used my correct ID, and knew my qualified level would be "silver," no higher, no lower.
Answer
got some of those "you qualify" emails and sent off to ebay - ...SPAM!!!
Anytime you get invited to be a powerseller (based on selling volume $$) you can double check IN ebay's site if you qualify. I almost always send mail supposedly from ebay off to spoof*ebay.com and they will tell you immediately if it is legit or not.
Frauds and spammers are very tricky! And ditto applies for paypal too.