Just got this from "eBay" ?? The latest scam?

Question
Hi,
I just received the following email from "ebay". When I clicked on the link, I was shocked to find requests for so much personal information. I'm assuming this is the latest installment in a long line of fakes and I was wondering if anyone else here has received the same thing?
I would post a copy of the email here, but they were clever (in some respect). The message is an "image".. so when you go to click on it to copy it, it automatically opens up their "info requested" page. I worked around that. Here's a copy of the email and info request page (as an image).
Header:
Date: Mon, 22 Sep 2003 15:26:55 +0000
From: eBay <us-confirm15*eBay.com>
Subject: 0fficial Notice for all eBay users
To: (email addy)
http://sunny.zandalea.biz/email1.jpg
http://sunny.zandalea.biz/form1.jpg
http://sunny.zandalea.biz/form2.jpg
http://sunny.zandalea.biz/form3.jpg
http://sunny.zandalea.biz/form4.jpg
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I feel bad for those people who will fall into this trap http://community.here.com/infopop/em...icon_frown.gif

Answer
I'm getting a few of these per week now. It'd disgusting.
blackcastlebooks

Answer
I'm getting at least a half dozen EACH DAY. Some of them look so incredibly realistic that even I have to do a double take. Imagine how often they are scamming people less savvy about this stuff. Scary.
Lynn
Lynnber almost everywhere
selling books and other stuff
Lots and lots of my Ebay Auctions

Answer
Be sure to forward the message to spoof*ebay.com if you haven't already done so. eBay manages to get those sites shut down when they know about them.
Ms. C.
------------------------------------------------------------
Did someone say chocolate?


Answer
welcome crabby
from
gabby http://community.here.com/infopop/em...on_biggrin.gif
_____________________


Answer
Thanks for all your replies http://community.here.com/infopop/em...icon_smile.gif And thanks for telling me about the "spoof" addy. I will most definitely send this to them immediately.
It really is frightening that someone could actually fall for this and supply all that private info. What a shame http://community.here.com/infopop/em...icon_frown.gif
Btw.. it's nice to meet you all!

Answer
Crabby, it is amazing how much time and energy these weirdo's put into these bogus emails, to me it is a lot of brain space being applied in all the wrong areas.
I forward all of them to spoof*ebay.com
one of these days I might even forward them one that actually came from ebay, I don't even read them anymore.
_____________________


Answer
Gabs, that's the best policy it seems. Just forward them all!
Just wanted to let everyone know that I did indeed forward this one to spoof and I received a letter back saying it was not an authentic email from ebay.

Answer
I have yet have them say any are from them.
I have started sending the Paypal ones to them too, seeings as I don't have a paypal account I can be pretty sure they are scams and ebay owns Paypal and I want to see how they are going to deal with it seeings as how my email address was obviously harvested from ebay and not from Paypal I feel it is ebay's responsibility to police these ones too
_____________________


Answer
there is a spoof*paypal.com email address for the Paypal ones to be directed to.
I'm getting only about 2-3 a week which isn't bad...
**********
I list at many different sites : My Ebay Storefront and My Ioffer Storefront
Or perhaps you'd prefer to visit SYI Listings and finally My Website
© 2007 www.aqcollection.com | Contact us |