eBay states we will be nixed - Need Safe Harbour addy, plz

Question
Happy Fall, everyone!
Sure do envy you all who have cooler temps and that gorgeous foilage... We don't realize that Autum is here - it is 83 degrees at 7:00 p.m.!
We have received 3 e-mails in 9 days from (supposedly) eBay stating our Credit card needs updating or we will be suspended. Is this for real? A hoax? If it is a hoax, could someone please forward us the safe harbour (who supposedly is sending these e-mails) addy to let them know of the hoax?
Thanks for help... Enjoy those beautiful leaves and cool temps...
J

Answer
Just forward the emails with full headers to spoof*ebay.com
Change the * to the AT symbol (here changes them automatically)
They'll let you know if they are real.

Answer
eBay won't send you emails that prompt you to click links in the email to update info.

http://pages.ebay.com/help/account/m...eft-spoof.html

Some community members have received deceptive emails that appear to have been sent from eBay. Recipients of these messages are asked to reply or click on a link contained in the email and then provide personal information on a website that appears to be the eBay site. eBay will not ask you to provide sensitive information such as eBay passwords, social security numbers and credit card numbers through email. If you have any doubt whether an email is from eBay, please refer to the Email and Websites Impersonating eBay page and follow the instructions provided to report the email.

The BEST rule of thumb is to NEVER click a link within an email. If you want to check your account for eBay or Pay Pal etc, go directly to the site, make sure you are on the Secure site, and then log in.
© 2007 www.aqcollection.com | Contact us |