New Ebay scam? Hijacked account?

Question
I just received two emails like this:
Dear eBay member
We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your eBay account from a
foreign IP address and we have reasons to believe that your account was hijacked
by a third party without your authorization.
If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in attempts
may have been initiated by you.
However, if you are the rightful holder of the account, click on the link below,
fill the form and then submit as we try to verify your identity.
http://cgi3.ebay.com//aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?VerifyIdentity&ssPageName=eBayISAPId entityXVERified2.html
The log in attempt was made from:
IP address: 205.188.209.166
ISP host: cache-dq04.proxy.aol.com
If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choice but to temporally suspend
your account.
We ask that you allow at least 72 hours for the case to be investigated and we
strongly recommend not to make any changes to your account in that time.
If you received this notice and you are not the authorized account
holder, please be aware that it is in violation of eBay policy to represent
oneself as another eBay user. Such action may also be in violation of
local, national, and/or international law. eBay is committed to assist
law enforcement with any inquires related to attempts to misappropriate
personal information with the intent to commit fraud or theft.
Information will be provided at the request of law enforcement agencies to
ensure that perpetrators are prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.
*Please do not respond to this e-mail as your reply will not be received.
Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.
Regards,
Safeharbor Department
eBay Inc.
______________
I am going to forward it to spoof*ebay.com. Anyone else getting these?
_____________________________
The sea refuses no river

Answer
I got one.....I deleted it!
packer


Answer
Well, at least I am not the only one. http://community.here.com/infopop/em...icon_smile.gif I sent one on to ebay and went and changed my password since I hadn't changed it in over a year. Guess that's all one can do.
_____________________________
The sea refuses no river

Answer
Hi bunz. This email is a scam and did not originate from eBay. The identical email has been going around this past week and includes the same IP addresses:
IP address: 205.188.209.166
ISP host: cache-dq04.proxy.aol.com
Blanche

Answer
I received this one yesterday and forwarded it to spoof*ebay.com - it was confirmed as fraudulent.

Answer
To me, this would be the giveaway and would get me to delete and not think twice about it:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>to temporally suspend <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Incorrect English typical of scammers. The word for that context is "temporarily" but "temporally" is also a word so wouldn't be flagged by a spell checker....
© 2007 www.aqcollection.com | Contact us |