Scam! AA Advantage *AmEx* car solicitation

Question
Just wondering if anyone else has rec'd this solicitation ... my husband just got a snail mail *application* for a Citibank AA Advantage American Express card. Looks to me like this mailing is almost certainly a scam :mad: designed to get hold of an applicant's SS#, particularly since to my knowledge, Citibank does not offer an AA Advantage AmEx card! (Or else I'd have one.)
The scammers are skilled enough that their *application* form even includes an AA Advantage number though to our knowledge, not one my husband's ever had! BTW--the web page address for submitting an application for the so-called AmEx card is something called www.applynow.citicards.com, which if you go there ... is nowhere!
Has anyone else been approached with this scam or a something similar?

Answer
particularly since to my knowledge, Citibank does not offer an AA Advantage AmEx card! (Or else I'd have one.)
Citi has been offering AA AmEx card for a while. Time to sign up?
http://www.citicards.com/cards/wv/cardDetail.do?screenID=928

Answer
Gotta be a scam, especially since it uses his AAdvantage number and the CitiCards website. Between the two programs, there's no way you can come out of it safe. :rolleyes:

Answer
Offered for over 1 year now :rolleyes:

Answer
Citi has been offering AA AmEx card for a while. Time to sign up?
http://www.citicards.com/cards/wv/cardDetail.do?screenID=928
Don't know how I missed this:eek: but still think what my husband rec'd was a scam as it doesn't send you to the Citibank web site but some scammy looking site instead.

Answer
Just wondering if anyone else has rec'd this solicitation ... my husband just got a snail mail *application* for a Citibank AA Advantage American Express card. Looks to me like this mailing is almost certainly a scam :mad: designed to get hold of an applicant's SS#, particularly since to my knowledge, Citibank does not offer an AA Advantage AmEx card! (Or else I'd have one.)
The scammers are skilled enough that their *application* form even includes an AA Advantage number though to our knowledge, not one my husband's ever had! BTW--the web page address for submitting an application for the so-called AmEx card is something called www.applynow.citicards.com, which if you go there ... is nowhere!
Has anyone else been approached with this scam or a something similar?
Citibank provides applynow.citicards.com for people to respond to offers sent by mail. If go there, it redirects to accountonline.com, which is Citibank's.
And of course, Citibank has offered AA Amex since a long time ago!

Answer
Yes, and it generally offers 15,000 or 20,000 miles as a sign-up bonus.

Answer
What makes it look scammy? If you feel this is a scammy website it is clear you have not been on the internet long or you should never apply to be a detective. This is a very legitimate site and has been for a VERY long time.

Answer
Yes, and it generally offers 15,000 or 20,000 miles as a sign-up bonus.Where did you see 20k for AA AMEX? (Or did you mean MC?)

Answer
[QUOTE=ncdecolover;7219012]The scammers are skilled enough that their *application* form even includes an AA Advantage number though to our knowledge, not one my husband's ever had! BTW--the web page address for submitting an application for the so-called AmEx card is something called www.applynow.citicards.com, which if you go there ... is nowhere!
QUOTE]
For educational purpose, the link you posted, is a 100% legit Citicards link.
On top of that, AFTER you click on the "scammy" link, when you look at the URL (the address block), the ACTUAL wordings said :
https://www.accountonline.com/ACQ/Apply?app=NPS&siteId=cb&LANG=EN
https, again, for educational purpose, it is a secured site - all legit banks/credit cards/what have you, that require you to input your valuable personal data, would display https, instead of just http. Remember this so you would not be actually scammed next time.
as others have pointed out, accountonline.com has been citicards site for filling out applications, for as long as I remember - that is at least 4 or even 5 years old.
BTW, since WHEN, you have applied a Citicard?! The site to apply Citicards is exactly the site that "scammy" link sent you to.
Next time before you think you are doing some good by posting such screaming post, ask around first - as you obviously have very little knowledge about what a secured site is, let alone you are at least one year or more BEHIND about Citi AMEX AAdvantage being available.

Answer
Yeah, accountonline.com is totally a Citi official domain. No scam. It's also the domain used in some cases for online access to your Citi account.
I think I've gotten the Citi AA Amex app as well, not 100% sure, but pretty sure one came through my mail sometime in the last couple weeks. Dunno the bonus. I thought I may have still had it around, but I can't find it.
Also if you look here, you'll see all the Citi rewards cards, including, yes, the AA Amex: http://www.citicards.com/cards/wv/filter1Search.do?x=36&y=10&constituent=CONSUMER (Hopefully that link is not session-based and continues to work.) The web signup offers 15k AA miles after $250 in purchases.

Answer
Just wondering if anyone else has rec'd this solicitation ... my husband just got a snail mail *application* for a Citibank AA Advantage American Express card. Looks to me like this mailing is almost certainly a scam :mad: designed to get hold of an applicant's SS#, particularly since to my knowledge, Citibank does not offer an AA Advantage AmEx card! (Or else I'd have one.)
The scammers are skilled enough that their *application* form even includes an AA Advantage number though to our knowledge, not one my husband's ever had! BTW--the web page address for submitting an application for the so-called AmEx card is something called www.applynow.citicards.com, which if you go there ... is nowhere!
Has anyone else been approached with this scam or a something similar?
Just wanted to let everyone know I was off base here. This was a legitimate offer!

Answer
Just wanted to let everyone know I was off base here. This was a legitimate offer!
Did you apply for the card in the end? ;) :D
© 2007 www.aqcollection.com | Contact us |